About Me

Over the years, students have asked lots of questions about me, so I figured I'd answer a few of the most frequently asked questions here!

The Lawrence Family
Where do you live?
I live in Lexington with my wife Stephanie, my four daughters Abby, Julia, Rachel (triplets who are in 9th grade) and Lily (6th grade), and our our Labradoodle named Maisy.



Where are you from?
I grew up in Huntington, NY, about an hour outside of New York City on Long Island.


When did you start teaching?
I started teaching way back in 1991 (the olden days!) in Newton, MA.


Don't you have something to do with those seat belt things that keep people in line at the airport?

Tensabarrier
In 1994, I left teaching for 12 years to work with my father running our family business, Lawrence Metal Products. The company manufactures TensaBarrier, the posts with the retractable seat belts that line people up at airports, banks, movie theaters, and restaurants. In 2006, we sold the company, and I was finally able to go back to the career I love most: teaching!


Where did you go to college?
I went to college at Duke University in Durham, NC. After college, I earned a Master of Science in Education degree at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

What are your hobbies?
A huge passion of mine is photography! In school, I try to take a lot of photographs for the Clarke Yearbook and year-end slideshow. In my spare time, I focus on portraiture and landscape photography. If you are interested in seeing any of my pictures, you can take a peek at www.davidelawrence.com.